Guillem IX: Farai un vers de dreyt nien

Fari un vers de dreyt nien

I shall make a vers about
          nothing,
downright nothing, not
about myself or youth or love
          or anyone.
         I wrote it horseback dead asleep
        while riding in the sun.

I was born—don’t know the hour,
not blood nor choler has the power.
My humour’s neither sweet nor sour;
          not worth a drop
since the night they sorcered me
          on a mountaintop.

Don’t know if Im awake or sleep
if no one comes to fill me in.
My heart is nearly cleft with pain
          (it rather it were partial).
I wouldn’t give you a mouse for it
      by old Saint Martial.

I guess I’m sick enough to die,
know only what they tell me. I’ll
ask the doc for what I want, I
          don’t know what it can be.
I’ll recommend his doctoring if
      ever he can heal me, but
if I sicken and get worse, well
          maybe not, maybe not.

I have a friend, I don’t know who
for I have never seen her. So
she treats me neither well nor ill,
      I do not say I blame her.

But this argument is also nil, it
      is not worth a curse
since I’ve never had a Norman or
      a Frenchman in the house.

Never saw her and I love her
very much. It doesn’t matter if
she treats me straight or not, for I
      do very well without her,
and besides, I know another who is
      prettier and such.
Why, she is not worth a rooster, and
      this other one is rich!

Well. I’ve made the vers already, though
      I do not know of whom. And I shall
      send it to a friend of mine who’s
                  sitting in a room.
He will hand it to another near Anjou,
          a gravel pit, who may
send me back from out his box, someday,
                    the key to it.
        Box or vers, the key to it.

Translated by Paul Blackburn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

