Anonymous: The Message of King Sakis & The Legend Of The Twelve Dreams He Had In One Night

1

I saw a gold pillar from earth to heaven.

2

I saw a dark towel
hanging from heaven to earth.

3

I saw three boiling kettles:
one of grease, one of butter, and one of water,
and grease boiled over into butter
and butter into water
but the water boiled all by itself.

4

I saw an old mare with a colt
and a black eagle pulling grass by its roots
and laying it down before the mare
while the colt neighs.

5

I saw a bitch lying on a dunghill
while the puppies were barking from her womb.

6

I saw many monks soaked in pitch
wailing because they can’t get out.

7

I saw a beautiful horse
grazing with two heads—
one in front, one in the back.

8

I saw precious stones, pearls, and royal wreaths
scattered over the whole kingdom,
but fire came down from heaven
and burnt everything into ashes.

9

I saw the rich giving workers
gold or silver or rice,
but when they came back to ask for their rewards
found that no one was left.

10

I saw evil-faced rocks descending
from the sky
and walking all over the earth.

11

I saw three virgins in a stubble field
bearing wreaths of sunlight on their heads
and sweet-smelling flowers in their hands.

12

I saw men with narrow eyes,
with hairs standing up and cruel fingernails,
and these were the devil’s own servants.

Translated by Charles Simic

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

