Henrik Nordbrandt: To de Nerval

To de Nerval

My life too has become like a lobster
yes, a lobster
I take walks, on a lead,
because it doesn’t bark
and it knows the secrets of the deeps.
I know who I am
because the lobster belongs to me
and the lobster knows it’s a lobster
because I have it on a lead.
And I divide people
into four groups:
those who see only the lobster
those who pretend not to see it
those who call the lobster a dog
and those who look at me
as if they haven’t seen the lobster at all.

Translated by Robin Fulton, from Modern Poetry in Translation no. 18, 2001

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

